What you should know about auto insurance in Florida 

According to Insurance Business Magazine, Florida has the fourth highest car insurance premiums, on average, in our nation. Of course, there are plenty of reasons why. A large number of “high-risk drivers”, 27 percent of Florida’s drivers do not possess auto insurance, multiple large metropolitan areas, and dangerous weather; just to name a few. Knowing this you may joke about moving across the country for lower car insurance rates, but that’s not practical or realistic. 

Since changing your area code for lower car insurance rates isn’t a practical option, Kirby Soar Insurance has the facts you need to know about auto insurance in Florida. 

Florida’s Auto Insurance Responsibility Laws

Every state has its residents prove financial responsibility for driving by requiring drivers to possess auto insurance. Now, there are a few exceptions to this rule, but those states still require other proof of financial responsibility in case of an accident. Florida is among the majority of states that require car insurance.

However, having auto insurance in Florida also means you need to carry PIP and PDL. Respectively known as personal injury protection and property damage liability.

These two types of coverage are required because, unlike most states, Florida is a No-Fault State. This means that, in Florida, each vehicle involved in the accident is responsible for covering their own personal medical expenses regardless of who caused the wreck. Your PDL insurance will be used to cover damage to vehicles or property, but personal injuries fall on both parties. 

Auto Insurance in Florida
Male and female drivers after car accident on road. Automobile crash. Broken automobile or damaged vehicle, auto collision on highway

No-Fault Auto Insurance

No-fault regulations were more common across the country through the 1970s. People abusing the system and using fraud quickly turned this good-on-paper system into an economic nightmare for many states. That’s why there are only 12 no-fault insurance states today. 

Problems With No-Fault Auto Insurance

In many instances, PIP won’t cover all of your medical costs. For example, imagine you were in a serious accident that cost you $20,000 in medical bills. If your PIP only covers $12,000, and you live in a no-fault state, you can sue the other driver for $8,000. This rule swings both ways, though. 

The other driver could just as easily pursue you for their missing costs. This includes the right to sue for disability, medical expenses, pain and suffering, emotional trauma, and lost income. Imagine now, that you or the other driver suffered permanent disfigurement, loss of bodily function, scars, or even death. That means that either of you could be responsible for that financial burden. Although, there are some safeguards put in place that limit the amount someone can sue for, under Florida’s no-fault laws. 

Types of Auto Insurance In Florida

There are so many kinds of auto insurance in Florida it can quickly overwhelm the average consumer. Kirby Soar Insurance knows the two types of automobile insurance certificates you will commonly choose between are:

  1. SR-22 Insurance: This is an insurance certificate that simply meets the state’s bare minimum requirements for financial responsibility.
  2. FR-44 Insurance: This shows that you possess financial liability insurance that exceeds the legal minimum required by your state. 

Automobile Insurance In Hillsborough and Polk County

Whether it’s an SR-22 or FR-44 insurance certificate you’re interested in, talking to an independent insurance agent in Florida is crucial. Your local Hillsborough County auto insurance providers at Kirby Soar Insurance do not work for insurance companies. Instead, we work for you. Shopping around to find the most comprehensive coverage for you at the best price, to keep you and your loved ones safe. Don’t get left high and dry with a huge financial burden because of an auto accident in a no-fault state such as Florida.

If you live in Plant City, Valrico, Lakeland, Mango, Brandon,  Mulberry, or surrounding areas you need to contact Kirby Soar Insurance. Reach us Monday-Friday 9am-5pm by calling (813)752-1680. Or reach us anytime by sending a message through our website